If You Like….

If you like Kate Morton’s The Secret Keeper, you’ll probably like:

— Her three other books: The House at Riverton, The Forgotten Garden, and The Distant Hours (if you haven’t read these yet, you’re in for a treat);

The Ashford Affair: I usually try to leave my books out of these, but some of the booksellers who read advance copies of both told me that they were struck by similarities between The Ashford Affair and The Secret Keeper (I haven’t read Secret Keeper yet, so I’m very curious to see what they mean);

— Lucinda Riley’s The Orchid House, also partly set around World War II, going back and forth between mid-century and modern Britain;

— Natasha Solomon’s The House at Tyneford, also set around World War II, although without the back and forth component;

— Harriet Evans’s Love Always, which goes back and forth between the 1960s and the present as a modern woman untangles the secret that has changed her family forever;

— Susanna Kearsley’s Season of Storms, in which a mystery dating back to World War II Venice and beyond still haunts the present;

— Diane Setterfield’s The Thirteenth Tale, which is much darker than Morton’s books, but has similar Gothic overtones.

What would you recommend to fans of Kate Morton?

7 Comments

  1. Céline on October 22, 2012 at 10:23 am

    I read The Thirteenth Tale and it was so great! I love Kate Morton’ books so i’m very interested by the other books you mention here! I’ll check them out!
    And of course, I can’t wait to read Ashford!!!!

  2. Joanne M. on October 22, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Rachel Hore is an author that comes to mind — her books are layered mysteries with secrets from the past with a gothic feel:

    A Gathering Storm
    A Place of Secrets

    And bring on Ashford Affair!!!

  3. Joni on October 22, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    I’ve been a fan of Kate Morton’s books for so long and can’t wait to read The Secret Keeper.

    Check out Jennifer Donnelley’s Tea Rose trilogy. The first book (The Tea Rose)has a great Jack the Ripper related mystery.

    Definitely can’t wait to read Ashford Affair too!

  4. jeffrey on October 23, 2012 at 12:17 am

    I’ve read and loved Natasha Solomon’s The House At Tyneford. Kate Morton is definitely on my to-read list. I’ve heard nothing but raves and compliments on her books.

  5. Céline on October 23, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Joni, I’ve just read a book by Jennifer Donnelly, a YA adult book, Revolution, that I loved! I’ll read her other books, for sure, and if you recommand the Tea Rose trilogy, I’m all the more impatient!

    It’s really too bad that Nathasha Solomon’s book is a bit hard to find here… I’m trying to find a way around! 🙂 I’ve been wanting to read it from the moment you talked about it a few weeks ago, Jeffrey!

  6. Gina on October 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    These all sound fantastic, thanks!

    This is a little off topic, but I’m curious about what you would recommend of the other authors that will be on the panel with you in November. Any thoughts?

  7. Alice on October 24, 2012 at 11:14 am

    “The Violets of MArch” by Sarah Jio fits in with this genre as well. Past/present with the past set during WWII. I thought the book was great. On a different perspective but still with the past/present setting is “Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet.” Really well written and very thought provoking.

Leave a Comment