New York Times Bestselling Author

Weekly Reading Round-Up

I was so enthused by the way everyone chimed in with book recs a couple of weeks ago that I thought it might be nice to make this a regular feature. This way, we can all share what we’ve been reading– and add to my massive “books to buy” list.

Here’s what I’ve been reading this past week:

Every Secret Thing, Emma Cole.

Emma Cole is another pseudonym for one of my favorite authors of romantic suspense, Susanna Kearsley. I’m a huge fan of her Kearsley books, especially The Shadowy Horses, but I liked this one even better. It was a little bit Mary Stewart (anyone else remember Madam, Will You Talk?), a little bit Hitchcock, a little bit Charade. In other words, splendid.

I Shall Not Want, Julia Spencer-Fleming

Yup, I’ve been on a mystery kick. This is the sixth in a series set in a small Adirondack town called Millers Kill. I love the way Spencer-Fleming, like Elizabeth George, really gets into the heads of her side characters.

The Fundamentals of Play, Caitlin Macy

Confession: I bought this years ago and never got around to reading it. Tucked away in the first chapter, I found an ancient pay slip from my grad school library job, which tells you just how long it’s been sitting there. Now I’m sorry I waited this long. In the tradition of Auchincloss and Cheever, the book is an elegant examination of post-collegiate New York about a decade ago– a fascinating look back at the world as it was before last year’s crash.

The Anglo Files: A Field Guide to the British, Sarah Lyall

This is nonfiction, but incredibly witty and amusing non-fiction, the observations of a New York girl who moved to London and married a Brit. Not unlike a certain Eloise Kelly….

The Love of Her Life, Harriet Evans

In keeping with the London/New York axis, this novel follows its heroine the other way around, from London to New York and back again. A friend gave me Evans’ A Hopeless Romantic for Christmas last year (“Because you are one!”) and I was hooked.

What have you been reading?

17 Comments

  1. Kristen on September 25, 2009 at 9:17 am

    It’s our crazy busy time of year at work, so I’ve been too tired to do a lot of reading. I did pick up Shannon Hale’s “Princess Academy” which is YA, but still an enjoyable read. (It’s not as fluffy as the title suggests either, which is a very good thing.)

  2. Jessica S. on September 25, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Mistress Anne, Carolly Erickson’s biography of Anne Boleyn, and a lot of articles on second language acquisition!!! Ah, the tenure-track.

  3. Stephanie W on September 25, 2009 at 10:20 am

    A lady I worked with lent me her Sara Donati books so I’m just about to start Into the Wilderness. I’m hoping it’s good. 🙂 (since there are 4 others after this, lol, it’ll keep me busy for a few days.)

  4. Lauren on September 25, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I love “Into the Wilderness”– I haven’t read the sequels yet, but the first book kept me up until three in the morning on a school night.

  5. Estelle Chauvelin on September 25, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    I read The Temptation of the Night Jasmine earlier this week. I’d been holding out for the paperback but I found it on a bargin shelf for a paperback price and couldn’t stand to wait any longer just to keep my series matching.

    I read a couple of short nonfiction books in between that weren’t terribly exciting, and now I’m reading Jarrettsville by Cornelia Nixon.

  6. Gina on September 25, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    I’m currently reading (or I would be if school weren’t getting in the way) the classic Dracula by Bram Stoker. It’s quite good, and MUCH better than any movie I’ve seen done of it.

  7. Stephanie Ball on September 26, 2009 at 12:05 am

    recently read lost symbol by Dan brown was rather good but similar in plot to all his other books.

    King’s grace – Anne Easter smith… VERY good book she has two others historical fictions. this one is about grace Plantagenet illegitimate daughter of Edward III.

  8. Sonia on September 26, 2009 at 1:19 am

    I am in the middle of reading “Perfection Salad” by Laura Shapiro, a short history of American Domestic Science. It’s interesting…a lot more complicated than I thought it would be. Also currently reading “Outlander” by Diana Galbadon (spelling?). It’s a historical fiction book set in eighteenth century Scotland. Extremely detailed and the characters are great to read.

    I highly recommend “Sacajawea” by Anna Lee Waldo. It is a monster of a book, but such a good book! If you didn’t love Sacajawea during history class, you’ll definitely love her after this book.

    Dan Brown’s book was fun to read. It was nice to feel that I’m still current with the western book world since I’m currently in China.

    Another recommendation and then I’ll shut up: If you plan on staying a really long time in some foreign country, definitely get a kindle. Doesn’t compare to a real book in some ways (and Ms. Willig, I’m buying your hardcover when it comes out so don’t worry!), but it’s very convenient and definitely nice to be able to get some new releases when they come out in the US without having to wait forever!

  9. Elizabeth aka Miss Eliza on September 26, 2009 at 3:15 am

    Oh, I love my kindle too, esp. for books that are so long they are cumbersome to hold. Though why all the Pink Carnation books except The Seduction of the Crimson Rose is beyond me…

  10. Stephanie W on September 26, 2009 at 10:38 am

    (me again) Started “Into the Wilderness” last night and had a lot of trouble putting it down. I even had to read a chapter before coming into work. I’m glad I only work until 1 so I can get home to the book. Hopefully my dog doesn’t want to be walked, lol. 🙂

  11. Tess on September 28, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I just finished reading The Monsters of Templeton by Lauren Groff. It is a historical fiction book, and I found it quite good. I heard of it over a year ago and was immediately drawn by the title and cover art.

    I just started reading Graceling by Kristin Cashore. It’s YA and a sort of fantasy novel. It’s not too shabby so far. I’m only on chapter two.

    I’ve also been reading Steven King’s On Writing which is a fascinating memoir/writing advice book. Quite good. I haven’t picked it up in a few weeks ’cause I’ve been meaning to make notes on what I’ve already read.

  12. Liz C on September 28, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    How is that I made it this far in life before I got hooked on Heyer? (I think I read Lord John and maybe 1/2 of False Colours in high school, but it didn’t stick.)

    Anyway, just stayed up way too late for 2 nights to read “The Corinthian” and “A Lady of Quality.” The latter now holds the title of “Best Regency Evah” (imo.)

  13. Liz on September 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Just read ‘The Grand Sophy’ and ‘Faro’s Daughter’ by Georgette Heyer. Both books have strong female characters that made me burst out laughing with their wit and their wild actions. Rereading ‘Trade Wind’ by MM Kaye

  14. Susan on October 1, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    Just finished An Echo in the Bone, the 7th of the Outlander books by Diana Gabaldon. Still can’t believe how it ended (in that it didn’t, it just quit). Next is Forest Born, 4th in the Bayern series by Shannon Hale. I’m also making my way through a few series by Mary Balogh. (love those Regency romances.)

  15. Cynthia on October 6, 2009 at 2:38 pm

    I loved the Mary Stewart books (so I’m looking forward to reading Emma Cole/Susanna Kearsley). You have to hoard the keepers because you can never find them when you want to reread. I just finished rereading Anya Seton’s Katherine after finding it in an antique shop! I enjoyed it as much as I did previously.

  16. Hollidae on October 8, 2009 at 3:30 pm

    I just recently finished re-reading Howards End by E. M. Forster. Still love it. Then I started On Beauty by Zadie Smith, which is supposed to be a modern day Howards End. I couldn’t finish though, very pale in comparison. Now I’m reading Strong Poison by Dorothy L. Sayers, love the Lord Peter books. I’ve also read Perfection Salad earlier this year, just thought it was interesting to see it listed on here.

  17. Su Suri on June 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

    You know what I love more than anything? His Lady Mistress. This is the historical romance that got me into Elizabeth Rolls, and I loved it. The romance was amazing and very sensual, the characters are believably flawed (sometimes this is difficult for romance novelists to accomplish) and while it is (as always) frustrating to see how their issues could be cleared up with an honest conversation about their misunderstandings, it is easy to see how the misunderstandings come to be and why each character stays within themselves instead of becoming vulnerable. Max’s difficult family life is further explained in “A Compromised Lady,” which is the story of Richard’s romance. I have read and reread this book – LOVE IT.

    Historical Romance Novels

Leave a Comment